DUI Statistics – Monday, April 20, 2015
2.7% of people in Delaware admit to drinking and driving, 2.1% in Maryland, and 1.4% in Virginia. The cost of alcohol related crashes costs more than $59 billion each year, according to the CDC.
Sean talked with Jamie King with Tunnell and Raysor about DUI’s. The two most common penalties are loss of license and fines. Sean says with each offense, the suspension gets longer and the fines get higher.
- 1st offense: $1,500 fine and 1 year suspension
- 2nd offense: $2,500 fine and 60 days in jail
- 3rd offense: $$5,000 fine and 1 year in jail
If you get any of these offenses, you are required to have a substance abuse evaluation as well as attending substance abuse classes. As of February 2015, you are also required to have an ignition interlock device in your car and that is at your expense.
If you are under the age of 21:
- 1st offense: revoked license for 30 days, even if you are not driving the vehicle, and a $100 fine
- Additional offenses: suspension can increase up to 180 days
Using a fake ID to obtain alcohol:
- 1st offense: fines up to $500 and 30 days in jail for non-payment of the fine
- Additional offences: fines up to $1,000 and 60 days in jail for non-payment
Giving alcohol to minors:
- Up to $500 fine
- 40 hours of community service
- Up to 30 days in jail